Tutoring to a Tee

Meet Tee - Founder and Primary Tutor

Hi, I'm Tee (they/them), and I am the founder of Tutoring to a Tee and the primary tutor.

I started this company in 2021 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. As schools shifted to virtual learning, it became clear that many students struggled with learning through this new format, and I knew I had the ability to help them adapt to online learning. At the same time, my personal job was impacted. As a result, I began tutoring online through various companies, but I soon learned that many of the larger companies were charging my students a significant amount to be tutored by me (sometimes upward of $90/hour) while unfairly compensating me for my efforts in helping me students (often only paying me $15 of the $90 per hour they charged my students). Ethically, this didn't sit well with me, so I opted to start my own company and work toward making tutoring more affordable for my students. Please note, however, that if you have reached this website after contacting me or working with me via a different online service, I am not able to offer you tutoring through Tutoring to a Tee for a set amount of time due to my contracts with these online companies. Reach out to me, and I will let you know what that timeframe is.

I have been tutoring virtually for the past year, and I have seen a lot of success with my students. I have a bachelor's degree in Zoology, and I am currently completing an alternative teaching certification program to obtain my Texas teacher's certification in 7-12 Chemistry.  My arrival to this career was anything but linear as I have changed my career plan a number of times, but I truly do love and enjoy helping students learn and couldn't be happier with where I have ended up. Throughout my time in higher education trying to figure out what I wanted to be when I grew up, I took a multitude of courses in various subjects, so I am very confident in many subject areas. While I primarily focus on math and science topics, I am comfortable in some areas outside of this, so please don't hesitate to ask. My philosophy is that students learn best when they are allowed to be themselves and are working with someone with who they are comfortable. I also emphasize hands-on approaches. I structure my tutoring sessions around getting to know my students to increase that comfort while also encouraging my students to work through problems themselves to increase their confidence and independence. 

I currently reside in Texas with my fiancee, Kylie, our 3 dogs, Abbey, Zeus, and Shiner, our cat, Charlie, our bearded dragon, Stark, and our 6 fish, Draco (a betta), and Harry, Neville, Moofish, Ron, Hermione, and Luna (all guppies). During my free time, I enjoy music, podcasts, traveling, video games, plants and gardening, cooking, movies, and spending time with my family and friends.